Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
NASW Social Work Pioneers: NYC Area
Share |

NASW Social Work Pioneers

Chair: Elaine Congress

The Social Work Pioneer Program was created to honor members of the social work profession who have contributed to the evolution and enrichment of the profession. The Pioneer Program identifies and recognizes individuals whose unique dedication, commitment and determination have improved social and human conditions.

Pioneers are role models for future generations of social workers. Their contributions are reflected in every aspect of the profession, as well as in the establishment of social policies and human services programs. They have accomplished this through practice, teaching, writing, research, program development, administration, advocacy, legislation, and election to public office.

The Pioneer Program provides support for Pioneer projects that combine historical perspective with an interdisciplinary approach. Other projects bring a historical perspective to current issues and challenges, and insight to emerging social problems.

Click here for information on how to nominate a Pioneer.

Social Work Pioneers from the New York City Region

Josephine A. Allen
Sonia Grace Austrian
Velma D. Banks
Gerald N. Beallor
Betram Beck
Aaron Beckerman
Sidney Berengarten
Barbara Berkman
Susan Blumenfield
George Brager
Patricia J. Brownell
Ann Burack-Weiss
Helen Burke
Mary Antoinette Cannon
Phyllis Caroff
Esther Chachkes
Susan S. Chan
Sylvia Clarke
Elma P. Cole
Elma Philipson Cole
Elaine P. Congress
Kathryn Conroy
Bess S. Dana
Miriam G. Dinerman
Rose W. Dobrof
James P. Donnelly
Michael J. Dowling
James R. Dumpson
Joyce Edward
David Fanshel
Mose J. Firestone
Zelda Foster
Alejandro Garcia
Frances A. Gautieri
Sheldon Gelman
Rosa Gil
Mitchell Ginsberg
Maria Elena Girone
Natalie B. Gordon
Roberta K. Graziano
Mary Pender Greene
Cathryn Sammons Guyler
Helen R. Hamlin
Ella Harris
Carmen Hendricks
Martha Hickerson
John E. Jacob
Mary Paul Janchill
Shirley J. Jones
Alfred Kahn
Arthur J. Katz
Kate Katzki
Charles King
Paul A. Kurzman
Larry Lee
Louis Levitt
Myrna Lewis
Florence Lieberman
Harold Lipton
Abraham Lurie
Mildred D. Mailick
Lawrence Mandell
Megan McLaughlin
Georgia McMurray
Friedhilde Milburn
Nancy Miller
Terry Mizrahi
Patricia G. Morisey
Marilyn Ohrenstein
Catherine P. Papell
David G. Phillips
Elizabeth R. Prichard
Mary Ann Quaranta
Helen Rehr
Alex Rosen
Gary Rosenberg
David Roth
Beatrice P. Sachs
Janet Sainer
Ann Sand
William Schwartz
Martha Selig
Edmund Sherman
Jerry A. Shroder
Barbara Silverstone
Alan B. Siskind
Renee Solomon
Jeanette C. Takamura
Lita M. Talbot
Patsy Turrini
Peter Vaughan
Florence W. Vigilante
Joseph Louis Vigilante
Patricia Volland
Robert Wells
Janice Wetzel
Darrell Wheeler
Janet B. Williams
Alma T. Young


Related articles:

Documenting the History of the Profession Through the Collective Contributions of NASW Pioneers
Celebrating Social Work Pioneers: Recognizing the Contributions of Longtime Members Enriching and Shaping the Profession
The Future of Social Work: A New Professionals - Pioneer Collaboration


Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal